Which actress receives first Filmfare Award?

Asia - General Knowledge Question and Answer

Which actress receives first Filmfare Award?  

Shabana Azmi
Mahjabeen Bano
Hema Malini


Meena Kumari (1 August 1933 31 March 1972), born Mahjabeen Bano, was an Indian film actress, singer, and poet under the pseudonym "Naaz", also known as "The Tragedy Queen" and often called the Cinderella of the Indian films.

Indian film critics regarded Meena Kumari as a "historically incomparable" actress of Hindi cinema. Meena Kumari made waves as an actor beyond compare in the 60s, Kumari got the author-backed roles and her male co-stars were said to be wary of starring opposite her. During a career spanning 33 years from her childhood to her death, she starred in about 92 films of a variety of genres, many of which have achieved classic and cult status today, such as Sahib Bibi Aur Ghulam, Pakeezah, Mere Apne, Aarti, Baiju Bawra, Parineeta, Dil Apna Aur Preet Parai, Foot Path, Char Dil Char Rahen, Daera, Azaad, Miss Mary, Sharada, Dil Ek Mandir, Kaajal, Chirag Kahan Roshni Kahan, Majhli Didi, Phool Aur Patthar, Bhabhi Ki Chudiyan, Yahudi, Halaku, Baadbaan and Kohinoor. Kumari was also a playback singer, as a child artist till 1945, later as an actress and as a heroine in Duniya Ek Sarai, Piya Ghar Aaja and Bichchade Balam.

Share Me: